ITIL is a framework for IT service management originally developed in 1989 by the UK government. It's versioned in four major versions. Individuals can pursue one of three levels of certification:

  • Foundations
  • Practitioner
  • IT Service Manager

The library is broken into two broad categories:

  • Service support, focused on:
    • Capturing changes
    • Capturing incidents
    • Change management
      • Risk, priority
      • Packaging, testing, releasing
      • Change types:
        • Standard: low risk, pre-approved.
        • Normal: intermediate risk, neither urgent nor pre-approved.
        • Emergency: urgent, may present significant risk unless promptly addressed.
  • Service delivery, focused on:
    • Service Level management
    • Availability management
    • Business continuity management
    • Financial management
      • Budget
      • Provision
      • Requisition
    • Capacity management

Security management straddles both categories.

The CMDB stores inventory data on the state of deployed systems within the organisation.

Triage process

flowchart LR Change Incident ServiceDesk[Service Desk] IncidentManagement[Incident Management] IsProblem{Is Problem?} ProblemManagement[Problem Management] ChangeManagement[Change Management] Change --> ServiceDesk Incident --> ServiceDesk ServiceDesk --> IncidentManagement --> IsProblem IsProblem -- True --> ProblemManagement --> ChangeManagement IsProblem -- False --> ChangeManagement


  • Services are means of delivering value by facilitating desired outcomes.
  • Service Requests are requests from customers concerning services.
  • Service Taxonomy provides a framework for organising services.


  1. Configuration Management
  2. IT Service Management